Shirlee Goodness Cakery

Making the world a sweeter place one cake at a time

Let It Snow!

on December 31, 2014
Snowflake Birthday Cake

Snowflake Birthday Cake

Each year I make a birthday cake for my cousin’s daughter Natalie whose birthday is on Christmas Eve.  This year she turned 16 and I made a snowflake cake.

Snowflake plunger cutters

Snowflake plunger cutters

I chose to make the snowflakes out of fondant using these plunger cutters.  I really like the detailed shape and design on the plungers.  I let them dry overnight and dusted them the next morning with sparkle luster dust.  I also cut out two large snowflakes from the fondant using a regular snowflake cookie cutter. The sparkle was very subtle.  Next time, I think I would roll out the fondant and dust before it dries, and then cut the shapes.

 

Snowflakes dusted with sparkle dust

Snowflakes dusted with sparkle dust

I baked two 8-inch round cakes, leveled them and cut each in half to have four layers.  Natalie  likes chocolate, so I filled them with chocolate buttercream.  Then I covered the cake with white buttercream tinted a light sky blue.

Four chocolate cake layers filled with chocolate buttercream

Four chocolate cake layers filled with chocolate buttercream

I used a round #5 tip to do the edging around the bottom of the cake and then placed the snowflakes on the top and sides of the cake.  I piped “Happy Birthday Natalie” using the same blue buttercream.

Snowflakes on the top and sides of the cake

Snowflakes on the top and sides of the cake

I thought the cake looked a little plain and wanted to add some more sparkle.  I tried brushing the luster dust on the cake, but the sparkle was very subtle and didn’t brush on evenly.  Then I added some small silver dragees…and they really did the trick!

First slice! Yum!

First slice! Yum!

One response to “Let It Snow!

  1. Spectacular! My birthday is in July…😉

Leave a Reply

