Shirlee Goodness Cakery

Making the world a sweeter place one cake at a time

Cake Decorating 101

on October 18, 2014

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Last weekend, I held my first cake decorating workshop. The workshop was part of a crafts event at church which where ladies could take classes to make items such as greeting cards, fabric pumpkins, mini-glitter houses. I had eight students ranging from 7-years-old to seniors. We all had a great time, and I was so pleased and proud of each of the beautiful and unique creations!

IMG_4873

For each student, I provided:

two six-inch cakes

filling

frosting

offset spatula

handout with basic instructions and icing techniques

 

IMG_4861I also provided:

piping bags

couplers

tips

icing color gels

other miscellaneous tools

IMG_4878

 

 

 

I demonstrated basic steps for filling and frosting a cake, and decorating techniques using a star tip and round tip.  Lastly, I showed them how to make leaves with tip #352, and how to ice cupcakes.

I think the pictures speak for themselves!

 

IMG_4867IMG_4871IMG_4879IMG_4876 IMG_4874IMG_4890 IMG_4914

 

One response to “Cake Decorating 101

  1. Sue Takamoto says:

    I wish I could learn from you too! It looks awesome!

Leave a Reply

