Shirlee Goodness Cakery

Making the world a sweeter place one cake at a time

It’s a Boy!

on September 5, 2014
Shower cake for Baby Boy

Shower cake for Baby Boy

 

A coworker requested a cake for his wife’s baby shower.  They are expecting a boy.  I asked them to send me some pictures so I could get an idea of what they wanted.  Here are the pictures they sent.

baby1 baby2 baby3 baby4 baby5

 

 

 

 

 

These pictures gave me a good idea of what their tastes were like.  I knew I should do a tiered cake in fondant for that classic look, and have baby booties on top.

Cut out shoe part with detailing

Cut out shoe part with detailing

Directions for making baby shoes can be found on the web. I saw the most adorable baby high tops, but I thought this cake would be better with a more traditional baby shoe look. Many thanks to the Cake Journal for their Baby shoe tutorial which I followed more or less.  I used a mixture of half fondant and half gum paste.  The gum paste gives strength and the fondant gives pliability to shape the shoes before they dry too fast!

Assembling the shoes

Assembling the shoes

 

When I saw the mother-to-be after the shower, she told me that she was so happy with the cake.  She said it was the first time that she asked for a cake and got what she wanted! She didn’t get the cake she wanted for her wedding cake or birthday cakes, but she did for her baby shower!  So I was very pleased that I was able to meet her expectations!

Here is a picture of the mom-to-be and the big-sister-to-be at the baby shower.  They are very sweet!

Mother and daughter with baby cake

Mother and daughter with baby cake

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

