Shirlee Goodness Cakery

Making the world a sweeter place one cake at a time

How to make Microwave Brownie Mix

on January 31, 2014
Individual Serving Microwave Brownie Mix, Packaged for Gifts

Individual Serving Microwave Brownie Mix, Packaged for Gifts

In past years, I’ve baked a selection of cookies to give my friends and neighbors at Christmastime.  This year, I decided to do something different.  I made microwave bowl potholders.  They’re quite handy.  You microwave your bowl nestled in the potholder.  When you go to take the hot bowl out the microwave oven, the potholder is already in place!  I found some really great directions at the blog Syzygy of Me.

Mix flour, sugar, cocoa powder, salt, cinnamon and instant coffee in a large bowl.

Mix flour, sugar, cocoa powder, salt, cinnamon and instant coffee in a large bowl.

Place labeled baggie in a mug to hold it open, and tare the scale.

Place labeled baggie in a mug to hold it open, and tare the scale.

As I was making the potholders, I decided I wanted to give a microwavable food item that could be used with the potholder.  I thought about healthy things like soup or oatmeal, and then I realized I could give a fun ready to bake treat– microwave brownie mix!  I took some different recipes from the web and then modified them a bit to my liking.  I like the cinnamon because it gives the brownie a hint of baked goodness, the instant coffee deepens the intensity of the chocolate, and the two types of chips add to the complexity of flavors…the chocolate chips lend bursts of real chocolate, and the white chips add color contrast and a bit of vanilla flavor. I printed the “baking” directions on a label and stuck them on plastic ziploc bags, and filled the bags with single portions of the brownie mix.

Add 87 grams of flour mixture to baggie.

Add 87 grams of flour mixture to baggie.

Add semisweet chocolate chips and white baking chips.

Add semisweet chocolate chips and white baking chips.

Since I was making a bunch of these to give as gifts, I multiplied the amounts of all the ingredients except the chocolate and baking chips times sixteen and mixed them in a big bowl.  (I wanted to make sure each mix got enough chips, so that’s why I didn’t mix the chips into the mix.  I thought that most of the chips would probably end up at the bottom of the bowl.)  I labeled the baggies and filled each one with 87 grams of the mixture and added chocolate and white chips to a total of 114 grams.

Here’s the recipe amounts for making a single serving or mixing up a batch of sixteen portions.  A few of my friends told me that the single serving mix was a perfect dessert for a family of three!

Ingredient

Large Single Serving

Sixteen Servings

Single Portion Package

Flour

¼ cup or 31 grams

4 cups or 496 grams

2/3 cup

or

87 grams

Sugar

¼ cup or 46 grams

4 cups or 736 grams

Cocoa powder

2 Tbsp or 9 grams

2 cups or 144 grams

Salt

pinch

2 tsp or 14 grams

Cinnamon

dash

½ tsp

Instant coffee, crushed into powder

dash

½ tsp

Semisweet chocolate chips

1 Tbsp

1 Tbsp or ~23 grams per package

White baking chips

1 Tbsp

1 Tbsp or ~23 grams per package

Directions for single serving:

1.  Empty contents into a microwave safe bowl or large mug.
2.  Add 2 tablespoons oil and ¼ cup water.
3.  Mix well.
4.  Microwave for 1 minute and 40 seconds or until cooked through.
       CAUTION: The bowl or mug will be hot!
5.  Remove from microwave and allow to cool for 2 minutes.
6.  Top with ice cream or whipped cream, if desired.
7.  Enjoy!

Microwave brownies aren’t as wonderful as oven-baked ones, but they’re still yummy and will satisfy a chocolate craving in a pinch.  And they’re fun for kids to make!

Freshly "baked" microwave brownie!

Freshly “baked” microwave brownie!

One response to “How to make Microwave Brownie Mix

  1. Summer says:

    Genius! Once again, you’ve outdone yourself!

Leave a Reply

