Shirlee Goodness Cakery

Making the world a sweeter place one cake at a time

Snoopy Christmas Birthday Cake

on December 31, 2013
Natalie's Snoopy Birthday Cake

Natalie’s Snoopy Birthday Cake

Filling and frosting Snoopy Cake

Filling and frosting Snoopy Cake

My cousin’s daughter Natalie’s birthday is Christmas eve.  We always have a big family gathering of about seventy people that evening to celebrate Christmas.  The last few years I’ve made a special birthday cake for her.  This year, we had a Charlie Brown Christmas theme so I made the cake with Natalie and Snoopy on the cake.

Pictures for Snoopy Cake

Pictures for Snoopy Cake

The cake was a quarter sheet chocolate cake filled with chocolate buttercream.  I found a picture of Snoopy holding a Christmas present to use, and I looked at some pictures of the Peanuts characters from the Charlie Brown Christmas to draw one that looked like Natalie with her long hair and Asian eyes.

Trace of figures in the frosting

Trace of figures in the frosting

After coloring all the frostings, I filled and frosted the cake.  I traced my patterns of Snoopy and Natalie onto parchment paper and cut them out.  I traced the outlines on the cake frosting using a toothpick.  I outlined the figures with black frosting (chocolate frosting colored black) with a round tip #2 or 3, then filled in with the various colors, also using round tips of varying sizes.  I smoothed out the filled in shapes with a small knife.

Snoopy cake in progress

Snoopy cake in progress

The final touches were adding the Happy Birthday Natalie and the falling snow flakes.

Happy Birthday Natalie!

Happy Birthday Natalie!

Leave a Reply

