Shirlee Goodness Cakery

Making the world a sweeter place one cake at a time

Christmas Cookie Platters 2012

on December 31, 2012
Christmas cookies plates for gifts

Christmas cookies plates for gifts

The last few years, I’ve baked cookies to give my coworkers at Christmas.  I like to include a variety of cookies – different flavors, shapes, and colors.  These are the cookies I included in my cookie platter this year.

Gingerbread – This year I decided I wanted to make gingerbread girls and boys.  I had a gift tag cookie cutter and thought that would be fun to decorate, too.  To see the recipe, tips and tricks for making gingerbread, see The Gingerbread House Centerpiece.

Chocolate Macadamia Macaroons – made with coconut, macadamia nuts, cocoa powder, egg whites, and sugar. After they’re bake and cooled, I dipped the bottoms in dark chocolate.  This was a new recipe this year and my favorite!  I got the recipe from Taste of Home.

Reese’s Peanut Butter Chocolate Krispie Treats – Another bar cookie, fast and easy to make and if you like peanut butter and chocolate, you’ll love these!  I had some at a friends house and begged for the recipe.  I also found it online at Recipe Snobs.

Russian Tea Cakes – also known as Snowballs or Mexican Wedding Cakes – a classic at Christmas time.  Buttery with chopped nuts and coated with powdered sugar.  Recipe courtesy of Betty Crocker.  Anything covered with powdered sugar is always a pretty addition to a Christmas cookie plate.

Dutch Butter Cakes – These are buttery, not too sweet, with just a hint of almond.  They are baked in a pan and cut into squares.  My friend Dutch Indonesian friend Ilse would make these for us as gifts each Christmas, and I think of her every time I make them.  You can make a lot in a short amount of time.  The cakes freeze well so it’s great to be able to make them ahead of time.  Here’s a copy of the recipe from the church cookbook.

Ilse's Dutch Butter Cake Recipe

Ilse’s Dutch Butter Cake Recipe

If I had more time, I would have made a few more varieties of cookies, like classic shortbread, thumbprint jam cookies, and macadamia cranberry cookies.  Well, there’s always next year!

Leave a Reply

