Shirlee Goodness Cakery

Making the world a sweeter place one cake at a time

Red Velvet Birthday Cake and Cream Cheese Candies

on July 26, 2012

Red Velvet Cake with Cream Cheese Hearts

This week was my coworker Janet’s birthday.  I wanted to make a special birthday cake for her.  She is a hardworking mom who lives in a house full of boys – two sons and her husband.   She had requested a red velvet cake, so I decided to try the red velvet love cake from Sarah Magrid’s “Organic and Chic” cake book.

Cakes cooling

The cakes turned out beautifully.  The texture was so nice – even, substantial, not too dense – the color just beautiful, and the taste…so delicious!

I just love the way that cream cheese frosting compliments the flavor of red velvet cake.  However, I’ve found that cream cheese frosting is very soft.  I can’t decorate with it like I do with buttercream because it just doesn’t hold its shape.  (Someday I will have to find a recipe for a frosting that acts like buttercream and has a cream cheese taste.)  I did want to add some special decoration to the cake, so these red cream cheese candy hearts were the perfect addition to hint of the luscious red velvet cake inside!

Red cream cheese heart

Cream cheese candies are quick and easy to make.  They can be colored and/or flavored, and made into fun shapes.  Here’s how to make them:

Cream Cheese Candy for Molds

Mix 3 ounces cream cheese, 2 tablespoons butter, and 1 pound powdered sugar.  Add  flavorings and/or food coloring as desired.  Roll into balls and coat with granulated sugar by rolling in a small bowl of sugar.  Press gently into candy mold and tap onto sugared wax paper.  Let set out at room temperature for one day or store in the refrigerator.

Heart shaped candy mold

I think I might make this cake next for Valentine’s Day!

2 responses to “Red Velvet Birthday Cake and Cream Cheese Candies

  1. yummo! I will be making this this weekend!!! xxx Cat

  2. Denyce says:

    I like the idea of the cream cheese frosting decorations! I have lots of candy molds and another use for them is ideal

Leave a Reply

