Shirlee Goodness Cakery

Making the world a sweeter place one cake at a time

Wailord Birthday Cake

on May 14, 2012

Wailord Pokemon Birthday Cake

My 10-year old friend Nicholas requested a Wailord birthday cake.  For those of you not acquainted with the Pokemon, they are cute, imaginary animal-like creatures that can battle and evolve into various stages.  Wailord is a whale-like Pokemon.
For this cake, I fashioned Wailord of blue and white fondant.  I let him dry several days.  His eyes were drawn in with an edible ink pen.  I made a 8-inch round cake.  After I leveled the cakes I saved a small round piece for the dome in the middle.  Supporting triangles with rolled paper towel.For the covering of the cake, I colored fondant in two shades of blue and twisted them with a piece of white fondant to create the swirl pattern before rolling the fondant out.
With the extra fondant I had after trimming the bottom, I cut some triangles which I attached to the cake, and bent them outward, supporting them with rolled up pieces of paper towel.  I also cut out the “waves” using a leaf cutter.  Plastic support rod inserted into the middle of the cake
One last trick to mention, Wailord was a little bit heavy, being made of solid fondant, so I inserted a plastic support in the middle of the cake and attached him using royal icing, just to make him a little more secure.  (I happened to be making royal icing for another project…post to come…but if I hadn’t, I would have used some fondant “glue” made from adding a little bit of water to some fondant.)Happy Birthday Nicholas!Happy Birthday, Nicholas!

3 responses to “Wailord Birthday Cake

  1. Cynthia says:

    Thank you so much, Shirlee! Nicholas absolutely loved the cake and the swirling effect on the fondant water was beautiful! Everyone was very impressed with the level of detail you put into your cakes! You outdo yourself with every birthday!

  2. Liz says:

    What a coool cake! Great waves and Wailord.

  3. […] Click to read Wailord Pokemon Cake Post […]

Leave a Reply

