Shirlee Goodness Cakery

Making the world a sweeter place one cake at a time

Knusperhaus

on April 30, 2012

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In a few weeks, I’ll be decorating a table for our Ladies Tea.  The theme is “Once Upon A Time.”  I decided that it might be fun to do “Hansel and Gretel” and make a gingerbread house for the centerpiece.  I consulted my German friend and she gave me lots of ideas, including the German name for the gingerbread house, knusperhaus.   This weekend, I had a trial run making my first gingerbread house from scratch.

I found some recipes online, and some templates.  I decided to try the “easy” foolproof dough for this first attempt…sturdy and made for construction, but not really for eating.  I also tried making some cut-out windows with crushed lifesavers for the panes. I left some walls whole because I wanted to try pretzel windows, too.

I was able to assemble the house using royal icing without too much trouble, and then the decorating was Fun!  Fun!  Fun!

Which decorations do you like?

Leave a Reply

